04.08.11 Box Score Breakdown: Fantasy MLB News and Notes

The biggest news of the day was Manny Ramirez retiring from baseball. Manny was facing a repeat-offender suspension and I guess he felt it was not worth hanging around for. If I were the Rays, I wouldn’t want him back. Hall of Fame? Not a chance. What a bum. As the 4th and Home guys were discussing yesterday, I guess he’d rather inject estrogen than play baseball. Manny finishes his career a .312 lifetime hitter with 555 HR and 1831 RBI. Surely a first ballot HOF-er, but after two failed tests, no chance. Shunned forever!

Before I start, does anyone else get really frustrated when games are postponed after it’s too late to swap players out of your lineup? There has to be a solution to this for sites hosting leagues. Very annoying. Colby Lewis took up a pitching slot where I could’ve had Matt Thornton inserted to blow my WHIP up!

Jordan Zimmerman – 5.1 IP, 6 H, 3 ER, 4:0…Zimmerman looked pretty decent against the Mess. I think his K numbers will rise the deeper we get into the season. Not promising a lot of victories, but he will surely help your ERA and WHIP. J-Zimm has a tough test against the Phillies this week. I’d be tempted to start him, but if you sat him I wouldn’t object.

Dustin Pedroia – 3/5, 2 R, HR, 3 RBI…Pedroia helped the Sawx get off the schnide with a decent game against a battered Phil Hughes (who may be headed to the bullpen). Just like that, Pedroia is hitting .296 and looks to increase the counting stats as he gets more comfortable on the diamond.

Brett Gardner – 2/3, 2 R, RBI, 2 BB, SB…Gardner had a great game from the lead-off spot. Remember what I said about him? Sure you do. Anyway, Gardner is up to .222 from the top spot.

Jonathan Sanchez – 7 IP, 4 H, ER, 7:2…Sanchez pitched a great game against the Cards until Brian Wilson imploded, only to be one-upped by Ryan Franklin imploding. Sanchez might have a lower ERA than WHIP by year’s end…

Pablo Sandoval – 3/5, RBI, BB…Look out, Kung Fu Panda is batting .440 in 2011. Only one of his 11 hits has gone for extra bases so far. If you listen to us on radio, I mentioned his weight issues prevented him from driving the ball. This year, his line drive percentage is at 25 (17.1 last year). Expect the extra bases to come in bunches.

Max Scherzer – 6 IP, 7 H, 1 ER, 3:2…Not in tip-top form just yet, but I still love his prospects for this year. Still allowing too many baserunners. His WHIP now stands at 1.82. I think the Tigers should demote Max. We know what happens when Max gets demoted. Ace!

Ricky Nolasco – 8 IP, 8 H, 2 ER, 2:0…I’ve always loved Nolasco, but somehow his peripherals never translate onto the field. 6 K thru 15 innings is not good enough, but I’ll take the 2.40 ERA and 1.00 WHIP.

Wandy Rodriguez – 7 IP, 8 H, ER, 2:0…Wandy lowered his ERA to 6.55 after this decent start. Be patient with him. The warmer months are around the corner…

Brett Anderson – CG, 8 H, 2 ER, 5:0…Anderson was sailing in this one, only to allow consecutive hits and allowing 2 runs as an Oakland pitcher usually spells LOSS. The benefactor…

Carl Pavano – 8 IP, 4 H, ER, 1:1…Pavano was in line for the loss, but was bailed out by his small-ball of a team. For his cost, I thought Pavano was a great buy – and still do.

Jose Tabata – 2/6, R, HR, 2 RBI, BB, SB…Now THAT is a nice stat line and one I expected more frequently when I listed him as my #19 OF for 2011. Tabata is now hitting .344 with 3 steals.

Tim Hudson – 7.2 IP, 8 H, 2 ER, 2:0…A typical Hudson start, but a great one against the Phils. Hudson is the NL’s version of Trevor Cahill. Well, Cahill is striking people out this year, but you know what I mean!

Cliff Lee – 3.1 IP, 10 H, 6 ER, 3:1…Everybody hits! Wow. Did not expect this one. No worries, that 7.84 ERA will be down in the 3s by May.

Gordon Beckham – 3/5, 2 R, HR, RBI…Little annoyed at myself for not being more aggressive trying to nab him this year. To my defense, I own Pedroia and felt I needed to load up in other areas. Beckham is proving his rookie year and last year’s second half were no fluke. Damn you, Killboy!

Ian Kennedy – 8 IP, 6 H, ER, 9:1…Now this was a nice start! I watched the first few innings of this game and Kennedy had all of his pitches working. He made Jay Bruce look silly, so I changed the channel. Inconsistency always bothered me about Kennedy, so beware of a ERA-killing start.

Travis Wood – 5 IP, 7 H, 6 ER, 4:2…Wow. I guess you have to expect this from young guys, but this one hurts. Still love Wood this year…ok, that was gross. Ok, still love Travis this year. Brush it off, big man!

Miguel Montero – 3/3, 2 R, RBI, BB…Montero is now hitting .545 and has played in every Diamondback game this season. This might be the year he lives up to the pre-season hype.

Travis Hafner – 2/5, 2 R, HR, 4 RBI…Ok, I am tempted to pick Hafner up. The Indians are now (5-2) in no small part to the .375-hitting Hafner.

Matt Kemp – 3/3, RBI, BB, SB…Kemp is still on first base in the 2-2 game, so there is a chance he gets a 2nd steal…ok, he’s still there. Oh! The game was suspended early this morning. It will pick back up today. Kemp is hitting .409 with 2 steals now. Jesse, how you feel?

Speaking of Jesse, he’ll be filling in for me tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

