05.02.11 Box Score Breakdown: Fantasy MLB News and Notes

Andre Ethier kept his hit-streak alive with a weak infield blooper to the left side.28 and counting!

Anyway, here’s what else I saw:

The Bats:
Alex Avila
– 2/4, 2 R, 2 HR, 2 RBI…Hey, Brian told you he had power last weekend!

David Ortiz – 2/4, R, HR, 2 RBI…He’s batting .277 now. Surprised me too!

Jacoby Ellsbury – 2/4, 3 R, 2 SB…Good one, Mike. Sure Brett Gardner will put up equal stats…

Paul Konerko – 2/4, 2 R, 2 HR, 4 RBI…Drop-off from last year? I think not! 8 HR and 24 RBI while hitting .302. Nice!

Alex Rios – 2/4, 2 R, HR, RBI, SB…Box Score filler-upper!

Derrek Lee – 3/4, R, HR, 2 RBI…Gosh he has stank this year.

Lance Berkman – 2/3, R, HR, 4 RBI, BB…Shazam! Batting .406 with 9 HR and 24 RBI. Unreal, but still selling.

Gaby Sanchez – 2/5, R, HR, 4 RBI…Not known for his power, Gaby has quietly hit 4 bombs while batting .294. I think he bests last year’s 19 by a few.

Mike Stanton – 3/5, 2 R, HR, RBI…B2B games with a HR now while batting .260. Right where I expect him to finish 2011.

***
Garrett Jones – 1/3, R, HR, 2 RBI, BB…You know I’ve been touting him. He just keeps hitting. Average up to .286.

Alfonso Soriano – 1/4, R, HR, RBI…His 11th bomb!

The Arms:
Madison Bumgarner
– 7 IP, 4 H, 7:1…If you read my piece yesterday on MadBum, you’ll know I am a proponent of him turning things around from here on out. His first test to prove me right came against the Nats. And although it yielded a loss – mainly due to the fact the Giant bats have been quieted and his defense let him down- MadBum did everything I felt he needed to do in order to deliver better, and projected, results. I’ll wait for the game log from FanGraphs, since Yahoo always seems to screw it up, but he apparently induced almost twice as many ground outs than he did flyball outs. Along with issuing only one walk, it was inevitable he would have a great end result.

Tom Gorzelanny – 8 IP, 3 H, 4:0…Gorzy looked great against the Champs, but as stated above, the Giants can’t buy a run. Gorzelanny now sports a 2.93 ERA and 0.91 WHIP. Be careful as his tERA was at 4.66 coming into this one.

Brandon McCarthy – 6 IP, 6 H, 4:2…Another victim of bad defense- his own in this case- McCarthyism continues to thrive in the Bay Area!

Bartolo Colon – 7 IP, 7 H, 3 ER, 7:0…Is this a joke? I don’t want to be the last one buying in and then be left holding the bag…

Jair Jurrjens – 7.2 IP, 7 H, 2 ER, 4:0…Continues to deal. Yes, you know. I called it and have talked about it many times. Funny how I rarely mention the calls I’m wrong on, eh? I guess it’s safe to now call me an “expert!”

Yovani Gallardo – 5 IP, 9 H, 5 ER, 7:4…With each start I ask Killboy what he wants for him. Despite my utter dislike for him (Gallardo that is), I like that he is now discounted more around the area that I feel justifies his stats.

Clay Buchholz – 6.2 IP, 8 H, 2 ER, 2:2…I mention Clay only because he won. The stats are not great. Sell – if you can.

Jered Weaver –  6 IP, 6 H, 3 ER, 6:1…April is over. He is now a pumpkin…with a belly ache.

Mark Buerhle – 6.2 IP, 8 H, 4:4…Yeah, these starts are mixed in with some real stinkers.

Sergio Santos – 0.1 IP, K, SV…Another save for Ozzie’s latest flavor. Actually, SS has not lost flavor and sports a 0.00 ERA and 0.90 WHIP with 3 saves through 13 innings.

***
James McDonald
– 6 IP, 5 H, 2 ER, 5:1…That makes two solid starts in row, BUT both against weak-hitting clubs in SD and SF.

Clayton Kershaw – 7 IP, 8 H, 2 ER, 4:0…Allowed a decent number of baserunners, but didn’t walk a single batter. First time he’s done that all year.

Leave a Reply

