Fantasy MLB Spot Starting: 06.27.11

Welcome to another week of Spot Starting.  I was lucky enough to be at the Phillies game yesterday with my Aunt and 5 year old son to watch the Doc put on a clinic.  I was 5 in ’83 when the Phillies went to the Series but I don’t have any memory of it – here’s hoping my little guy has an elephant’s memory because these are special times to be a Phils fan.

For games on Tuesday June 28th these selected pitchers might be had in your league (less than 50% owned in Yahoo! or ESPN) with percent owned Yahoo/ESPN, (team), and opponent:

Kevin Correia 45% / 40% (PIT) @ TOR

Javier Vazquez 24% / 3% (FLA) @ OAK

Jason Marquis 17% / 11% (WAS) @ LAA

Rick Porcello 15% / 9% (DET) vs. NYM

Freddy Garcia 13% / 8% (NYY) vs. MIL

R.A. Dickey 13% / 4% (NYM) @ DET

Clayton Richard 13% / 1% (SD) vs. KC

Jordan Lyles 3% / 2% (HOU) vs. TEX

My Pick: Frdddy Garcia vs. Brewers

Alternate: R.A. Dickey @ Tigers

Deep League Special: Jordan Lyles vs. Rangers

Wow, what an uninspired lot that is.  I’m going to go back to early season Spot Starting darling Freddy Garcia who has quietly gotten his season back on track over his past 3 starts. 

Dickey is a decent play against the Tigers as he is coming off his best start of the season, though his career numbers against Detroit aren’t great.

Lyles is a good cheap source of K’s right now.

Results from 6/24/11:

Jason Vargas: L, 6 IP, 8 H, 4 ER, 4 K, 2 BB… What?  A loss?  Does not compute.  This only happened because I actually followed my own advice and picked up Vargas for my team.  Sorry about that, I’ll go back to just helping everyone else.

Season Results (my pick only):

43 GS, 20-7, 274.1 IP, 237 H, 81 ER, 211 K, 70 BB, 2.66 ERA, 1.12 WHIP

Original post on Spot Starting

2 responses to “Fantasy MLB Spot Starting: 06.27.11

  1. Killboy 28 June 2011 at 16:24

    Haha! I’m surprised Vargas didn’t get injured.

  2. Chris I. 28 June 2011 at 21:52

    this yankee fan thanks you for going back to your old ways and not picking up Garcia.

Leave a Reply

