08.18.11 Box Score Breakdown: Fantasy MLB News and Notes

Y’all, I need to come clean. I have bashed Javier Vasquez since pre-season, but with Tommy Hanson making a DL trip – I picked him up and started him last night. I know, I know. Forgive me. I thought last night he would’ve burned me, and it did look that way after the first two innings, but he redeemed himself. Tough match-ups ahead so I’ll probably dump him.

Onto it!

4th and Home Player of the Day: Ricky Romero – 3-hit SHO/6:2…Sick stats for pitching on a bad team in a tough division: 12-9/2.73/1.11/147:63.

The Bats:
Alex Gordon – 2/4, 2 R, HR, 2 RBI…Leadoff hitter or not, Gordon has thrived this year. His current line is .297/76/16/64/12.

Paul Goldschmidt – 2/3, R, HR, RBI…B2B games with a blast. Still strikes out way too much. A full season next year could see 200+ K.

Mark Teixeira – 2/3, 2 R, HR, 2 RBI…First homer in 10 games. Too bad his average isn’t even over .250.

Colby Rasmus – 3/4, 3 R, HR, 2 RBI…He’s alive. He’s alive! Batting just .253 for the Jays, which is better than his .246 for the Cards. 2012 sleeper. He has something to prove.

Mark Trumbo – 2/4, R, HR, 2 RBI…WALK OFF! 30/100 in 2012 is in the bag. Sleeper.

The Arms:
Clayton Kershaw
– 8/5/0/6:0…A CY is in his future. He just keeps getting better.

Vance Worley – 3/1/0/2:0…Rain delay ended his night early.

Jordan Zimmerman – 5.2/6/0/1:2…Couple more starts left. I told you to trade him weeks ago. Hope you did (Ahem, Jesse…).

Mike Minor – 6/4/0/9:1…It’s like a box of chocolates with this guy.

Tim Lincecum – 7/5/1/7:2…Yet another loss because his offense behind him is terrible.

Trevor Cahill – 5.1/9/7/2:2…Well, he started off hot and I began doubting myself for passing him up round after round. Oh ye of little faith!

Tim Stauffer – 7/5/1/5:1…2.52 ERA at home. Next year, I will draft the entire Padre rotation and spot-start them.

Colby Lewis – 7/4/0/7:2…As DeNeiro once said, perhaps referring to the Rangers’ Mike Adams in the 9th: “You blew it!”

***
If you have any roster or trade questions, feel free to drop me an email at 4thandHome@gmail.com. I should be able to get back to you within 18 hours.

Leave a Reply

