09.05.11 Box Score Breakdown: Fantasy MLB News and Notes

Now that the Northeast is restored from Irene, perhaps 4th and Home can restore itself as a staple in your diet…

The 4th and Home regular season has ended and just 4 are headed to the playoffs. The final standing of the nuts you know:

Mike      16-5-1
Killboy   15-5-2
Eric       12-10-0
Jesse     10-11-1
Chris      9-11-2
Brian      8-14-0

So now I play Jesse in Round 1 and Killboy and Eric square off.

Onto it!

4th and Home Player of the Day:Zach Stewart – 1-hit SHO/9:0…If you started him in this one, then you should be in Vegas.

The Bats:
Mike Morse – 2/4, 2 R, 2 HR, 3 RBI…A .315/62/26/82/2 line through 2/3 of a season. I’ll never let go of the fact I dumped him in April.

Jesus Montero – 2/3, 3 R, 2 HR, 3 RBI…His first two longballs and a taste of 2012 for fans.

Mark Reynolds – 3/4, 3 R, HR, 2 RBI, SB…BSFU and he continues to prove me right as a major sleeper this year while everyone was jumping on the Pedro Alvarez love train.

Dexter Fowler – 3/5, 2 R, 2 HR, 2 RBI…Batting .307 in the 2nd half and I could see him being a cheap source of stats come 2012.

Evan Longoria – 1/2, 2 R, HR, RBI, SB…A BSFU for Longoria who has been coming on strong of late.

Pablo Sandoval – 24, 3 R, 2 HR, 2 RBI…Panda, if healthy, is a top 3B-option. Now 18 HR through 96 games. That’s a 30-homer pace!

Billy Butler – 3/4, 4 R, 2 HR, 3 RBI…The 2nd half stud.

The Arms:
James McDonald
– 7.1/3/1/6:3…Another decent second half, but something tells me he won’t be as coveted in 2012 drafts.

Ubaldo Jimenez – 7/2/3/8:3…Never thought I’d bench the first pitcher I drafted in my H2H playoffs.

Doug Fister – 8/4/1/13:1…Ok, where did this one come from?

Josh Beckett – 3.2/3/0/6:1…Owners are nervous after the early exit. No! Not for the fantasy playoffs!

James Shields – CG/4/1/6:2…Another CG in a tough start.

Madison Bumgarner – 8.1/7/2/13:1…Way too many pitches in this one, but proof he is ready to be a #1 as I’ve been saying this year.

Phil Humber – 7/6/0/6:0…A nice start off the DL. I think he can be a nice spot-start option the final few weeks here.

Randy Wolf – 8/4/1/5:2…Nail in the Cards’ coffin, but don’t pick him up too fast as he has the Phils this week.

Cliff Lee – 5-hit SHO/6:0…0.21 ERA in June, a 0.45 ERA in August and now a 0.00 ERA in September. A late push for CY?

Rich Harden – 5/8/4/10:1…Strikeout numbers, nice. WHIP? Not so nice.

Javier Vazquez – 7/6/1/7:0…I hate this guy, but I spot-started him and he’s pitching on my playoff roster. Go figure.

***
Be sure to keep a look out for my August review of the “September Stars” series.
***
If you have any roster or trade questions, feel free to drop me an email at 4thandHome@gmail.com. I should be able to get back to you within 18 hours.

One response to “09.05.11 Box Score Breakdown: Fantasy MLB News and Notes

  1. Chris I. 6 September 2011 at 20:04

    re: morse: and I’ll never let go of the fact that I traded him for B.J. ‘perpetual untapped potential’ Upton.

Leave a Reply

